In order to become licensed as a broker in Pennsylvania, a real estate licensee must meet both education and experience requirements.
Pennsylvania Broker Licensure
16 credits or 240 hours of instruction is required from the categories below.
6 credits or 90 hours in at least three of courses below
|Real Estate Finance||3|
|Real Estate Investment||2|
|Real Estate Sales||2|
|Valuation of Residential Property (Appraisal)||2|
|Valuation of Income Producing Property (Appraisal)||2|
|Residential Property Management||2|
|Non-Residential Property Management||2|
GHRI offers at least 5 of these annually!
4 credits or 60 hours (must take both)
|Real Estate Law||2|
|Real Estate Office Management||2|
GHRI offers both of these annually!
6 credits or 90 hours in any approved Broker elective credit course
|ABR®, Accredited Buyer’s Representative|
|CNE® 1, Certified Negotiation Expert|
|CNE® Advanced Concepts Course|
|CSP®, Certified New Home Sales Professional|
|GREEN®, Day 1 & 2|
|SRS®, Seller Representative Specialist|
|SRES®, Seniors Real Estate Specialist|
GHRI offers at least 5 of these annually!
- 1 broker credit = 15 hours
- Maximum of 4 credits per study area
- All elective courses must be approved by the PA SPREC for each education provider in order to be approved for a broker elective credit.
Pennsylvania Broker Licensee Requirements
- Must be 21 years of age and have obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Must have at least three years experience as a licensed real estate salesperson
- Complete 16 credits or 240 hours of instruction within 10 years prior to date of passing licensing exam.
- Satisfy at least 200 points in experience. You can find the point system and LINK
Note: points are awarded for full time employment wherein no other points can be earned.
- Have successfully passed both the Pennsylvania and National portions of PSI Broker Real Estate Exam
- Have completed, signed and submitted the licensing application provided by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission along with the required fee.
Broker Experience Requirements
Must provide a minimum of 3 years of real estate experience by documenting 200 points using the following point system:
- Sale (Commercial or Residential) – 5 points;
- Exclusive listing which sold (Commercial or Residential) – 5 points;
- Unsold exclusive listing (Commercial or Residential) – 1 point;
- Lease (Commercial) – 5 points;
- Lease (Residential) – 1 point;
- Property Management Assistance (Commercial or Residential) – 6 points/month.
For additional information on Broker Applicant experience requirements, please visit the PA State Real Estate Commission website.
GHRI Broker and Designation Courses
To register for Broker Courses, call (717) 364-3200 or register online in your GHAR Member Portal.
Residential Property Management
Course covers the essential principles and practices of residential, commercial and retail management; practical maintenance and repair policies; advertising, marketing, and leasing rental units; tenant selection and tenant relations; leasing practices and procedures; and overall rental market surveys. Approved for 2 broker credits and 30 hours of PA Real Estate Continuing Education for the 2022-2024 CE cycle…
Real Estate Law (30 hours)
This is a required course for broker licensure candidates. Topics covered will include: introduction to real property, contract law, the real estate transaction, leases, law and the real estate licensee, counsel of attorney and much more. Approved for 2 broker credits. Cost is $400, plus $50 for the text book. Includes lunch every day…
– Broker Class Mandatory
Seller Representative Specialist (SRS) (15 hours)
Learn tools and tips that will equip you to list in today’s marketplace. Learn how to: increase listings and grow your business, demonstrate and communicate your value package, understand and apply the Code of Ethics & Standards of Practice, understand and comply with state license laws, understand and apply methods, tools and techniques to provide support and services that sellers want and need…
Once a broker candidate has successfully completed the education and experience requirements, they are eligible to sit for the Pennsylvania Broker License Exam. To sit for the exam,
- Complete and mail the Broker Examination Eligibility Application, to the State Real Estate Commission. The cost is $40.
- The Real Estate Commission will contact you with the approval, and send the instructions for taking the state exam. This exam is administered by PSI Examination Services. More information…
- Once you pass the state exam, PSI will give you the required forms to submit to the Real Estate Commission to obtain your license.